THE GAUHATI HIGH COURT AT GUWAHATI

(The High Court of Assam: Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh

NOTIFICATION

No.HC.XI-05/2019/88/RC Dated, Guwahati, the 27th September, 2019.

LIST OF HOLIDAYS DURING THE YEAR 2020 IN RESPECT OF THE SUB-ORDINATE CIVIL & CRIMINAL COURTS OF NAGALAND

In exercise of the power vested under section 15 of the Act XII of 1887 (The Bengal, Agra and Assam Civil Court, Act) the Gauhati High Court is pleased to declare the following days to be observed as closed holiday during the year 2020 in all the Civil and Criminal Courts in Nagaland, Sub-ordinate to the Gauhati High Court.

New Year	-	1 st January	-	Wednesday	-	1 day
Republic Day	-	26 th January	-	Sunday	-	1 day
Maha Shivaratri	-	21 st February	-	Friday	-	1 day
Holi	-	10 th March	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Good Friday/ Easter Saturday & Sunday	-	10 th April to 12 th April	-	Friday to Sunday	-	3 days
May Day	-	1 st May	-	Friday	-	1 day
Id-Ul-Fitre	-	25 th May	-	Monday	-	1 day
Bakri Eid/ Eid-ul-Adha	-	31 st July	-	Friday	-	1 day
Janmastami	-	11th August	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Independence Day	-	15 th August	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Ganesh Chaturthi	-	22 nd August	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Muharram/Ashura	-	29th August	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Gandhi Jayanti	-	2 nd October	-	Friday	-	1 day
Durga Puja/Dussehra		25 th October & 26 th October		Sunday & Monday		2 days
Diwali/Deepavali	-	14 th November	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Guru Nanak's Birthday	-	30th November	-	Monday	-	1 day
State Inauguration Day	-	1 st December	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Christmas Holidays	-	<i>23rd December to 31st December</i>	-	Wednesday to Thursday	-	9 days

<u>N.B.</u> :-

- (1) In addition to aforesaid holidays all Courts shall remain closed on such days as are observed as local holiday in Executive Offices and also on days which are observed as Public holidays U/S 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881 (XXV of 1881) and also the Courts shall remain closed on such days declared as holiday by the State Govt. of Nagaland.
- (2) If any of the holidays for festivals notified above does not fall on the day notified, necessary modification changing the date will be issued in due time.

- (3) All Civil Courts will remain closed on 2nd and 4th Saturdays of each month. The Courts will function on other Saturdays of the month from 10 a.m. to 4.30 p.m.
- (4) The Sub-ordinate Civil Courts will enjoy either the holidays declared by the High Court or the holidays declared by the State Govt. of Nagaland on the same occasion falling on two different dates.

LIST OF RESTRICTED HOLIDAYS DURING THE YEAR 2020 IN RESPECT OF THE SUB-ORDINATE CIVIL & CRIMINAL COURTS OF NAGALAND

OCCASION		DATE		DAYS		NO OF DAYS
Thuni (Chakhesang)	-	5 th January	-	Sunday	-	1 day
Chithuni	-	7 th January	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Poang Lum (Chang)	-	13 th January	-	Monday	-	1 day
Sukrunyi (Chakhasang)	-	15 th January	-	Wednesday	-	1 day
Tsungkamneo (Yimchunger)	-	16 th January	-	Thursday	-	1 day
Mimkut (Kuki)	-	17 th January	-	Friday	-	1 day
Khaozasoie-Hok-Ah (Khiamniungan)	-	20 th January	-	Monday	-	1 day
Bishu (Kachari)	-	27 th January	-	Monday	-	1 day
Basant Panchami / Sri Panchami	-	29 th January	-	Wednesday	-	1 day
Totino	-	18 th February	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Sekrenyi (Angami)	-	25 th February	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Mileinyi (Zeliang)	-	11 th March	-	Wednesday	-	1 day
Tsohsu (Sangtam)	-	12 th March	-	Thursday	-	1 day
Kundaglun (Chang)	-	1 st April	-	Wednesday	-	1 day
Aoleang (Konyak)	-	1 st & 2 nd April	-	Wednesday & Thursday	-	2 days
Phom Monyu	-	1 st & 2 nd April	-	Wednesday & Thursday	-	2 days
Holong Monglashi	-	3 rd April	-	Friday	-	1 day
Manipur New Year Day	-	13 th April	-	Monday	-	1 day
Vaisakhadi (Bengal)/ Bohag Bihu (Assam)	-	14 th April	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Wangtsunuo (Yimchunger)	-	16 th April	-	Thursday	-	1 day
Pochury (Commemoration Day)	-	21 st April	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Tsukhenyi (Chakhasang)	-	24 th April	-	Friday	-	1 day
Moatsu (Ao)	-	2 nd May	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Woplong	-	3 rd May	-	Sunday	-	1 day
Buddha Purnima	-	7 th May	-	Thursday	-	1 day
Phom Day	-	6 th June	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Tuluni (Sumi)	-	8 th July	-	Wednesday	-	1 day
Naknyulum (Chang)	-	31 st July	-	Friday	-	1 day
Tsungremong (Ao)	-	1 st & 2 nd August	-	Saturday & Sunday	-	2 days

Biam (Khiamniungam)	-	7 th August	-	Friday	-	1 day
Metemneo (Yimchunger)	-	8 th August	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Martyr's Day (Manipur)	-	13 th August	-	Thursday	-	1 day
Hunapongpi (Sangtam)	-	18 th August	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Muharram	-	29 th August	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Onam (Kerela)	-	31 st August	-	Monday	-	1 day
Mongmong (Sangtam)	-	3 rd September	-	Thursday	-	1 day
Black Day (Pochury)	-	6 th September	-	Sunday	-	1 day
Lao-ong Mo (Konyak)	-	28 th September	-	Monday	-	1 day
Tsokum	-	5 th October	-	Monday	-	1 day
(Khiamniungam)						
Yemshe (Pochury)	-	5 th October	-	Monday	-	1 day
Chaga Gadi (Laingmai)	-	30 th & 31 st	-	Friday &	-	2 days
		October		Saturday		
Langsimnyi (Zeliang)	-	31 st October	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Chavang Kut (Kuki)	-	1 st November	-	Sunday	-	1 day
Aphikimthi (Sumi)	-	4 th & 5 th	-	Wednesday &	-	2 days
		November		Thursday		
Ningol Chakouba (Manipuri)	-	5 th November	-	Thursday	-	1 day
Tokhu Emong (Lotha)	-	6 th & 7 th	-	Friday &	-	2 days
		November		Saturday		,
Ahuna (Sumi)	-	14 th & 15 th	-	Saturday &	-	2 days
		November		Sunday		
Bhai Duj	-	16 th November	-	Monday	-	1 day
Wangla (Garo)	-	21 st November	-	Saturday	-	1 day
Guru Teg Bahadur Martyrdom Day	-	24 th November	-	Tuesday	-	1 day
Ngada (Rengma)	-	27 th & 28 th	-	Friday &	-	2 days
(iteligina)		November		Saturday		_ 00,0
Terhuni (Angami)	-	9 th December	-	Wednesday	-	1 day

By Order etc.

19 REGISTRAR (JUDICIAL)