Menu Close

About Us

Article 214 of the Constitution of India reads as follows:

” 214. High Courts for States:- There shall be a High Court for each State. “

The High Court is a Constitutional Court in terms of Article 215. It is a Court of record and has all the powers of such Court including the power to punish for Contempt of itself and for Contempt of Courts Subordinate to it. Every High Court consist of a Chief Justice and such other Judges as the President of India from time to time deem it necessary.

At present, the sanctioned Judge strength of the Gauhati High Court is 24 including the Hon’ble Chief Justice and 6 Additional Judges. Every Judge including the Chief Justice is appointed by the President of India by warrant under his hand and seal. Every permanent Judge continues in office until he attains the age of 62 years. The Additional Judges are appointed for a period not exceeding two years taking into account the temporary increase in the business or arrears of work of the High Court. Such Judges shall also not hold office after attaining the age of 62 years.

Chief Justice:

  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Vijay Bishnoi

Puisne Judges:

  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Lanusungkum Jamir
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Manash Ranjan Pathak
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Michael Zothankhuma
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Suman Shyam
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Kalyan Rai Surana
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Nelson Sailo
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sanjay Kumar Medhi
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Manish Choudhury
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Soumitra Saikia
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Parthivjyoti Saikia
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Robin Phukan
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Kakheto Sema
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Devashis Baruah
  • The Hon’ble Mrs. Justice Malasri Nandi
  • The Hon’ble Mrs. Justice Marli Vankung
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Arun Dev Choudhury
  • The Hon’ble Mrs. Justice Susmita Phukan Khaund
  • The Hon’ble Mrs. Justice Mitali Thakuria
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Kardak Ete
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Mridul Kumar Kalita
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Budi Habung
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice N. Unni Krishnan Nair
  • The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Kaushik Goswami

Under Article 226 of the Constitution of India, the High Court has power in relation to its territorial jurisdiction to issue directions, orders and writs including writs in the nature of Habeas Corpus, Mandamus, Prohibition, Quowarranto and Certiorari for enforcement of the fundamental rights conferred by Part- III of the Constitution of India or for any other purpose.

The High Court also has the power of superintendence over all Courts and Tribunals throughout the territory in relation to which it exercises jurisdiction under Article 227 of the Constitution of India. The Gauhati High Court Rules regulate the business and exercise of the powers of the Gauhati High Court.

The High Court has original, appellate as well as revisional jurisdiction in both Civil as well as Criminal matters apart from the power to answer references under certain statures. The Gauhati High Court transacts its business during its working days from 10.15 AM to 1.00 PM during the 1st Session and from 2.00 PM to 4.30 PM in the 2nd Session. The Hon’ble the Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court constitutes the Single, Division and Full Benches and a daily cause list showing the cases listed before the Benches is notified by the Registry of the High Court.


Skip to content